Projection Of Thought/Hope Into Physical Manifestation: Any Examples?

Discussion in 'General Forteana' started by Ermintruder, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Ermintruder

Ermintruder Existential pixelfixer

In "The Mission", a 1985 Spielberg 'Amazing Stories' tv mini-series episode, a WW2 USAAF bomber crewman is doomed to die, trapped in the underside glass gunner's position (because the pilot has to perform a forced belly-landing: the undercarriage is either jammed or shot).

To save himself, the crewman gunner (a cartoonist by profession) manages to draw a replacement wheel assembly on a sketch-pad, and believes so strongly in his paper creation that it is projected, physically, onto the aircraft, and his life (and those of the whole crew) is/are saved.

I clearly remember watching this episode (just once, over 30yrs ago) and being utterly-entranced by the whole concept.

Does anyone know of any real-life examples of such a phenomenon, in any sense? Or was this story, in itself, entirely a work of fiction, without any reference to reality?

It just seemed so gripping a concept: hugely-improbable, of course, and yet somehow not entirely impossible.
    2018-01-11 05.59.08.png

PeteS likes this.
  2. EnolaGaia

EnolaGaia I knew the job was dangerous when I took it ...

As far as I know, The Mission was entirely fantasy. Spielberg wrote the story.

I recall seeing it when it was first broadcast, and I recall it being a tense drama ruined by a gratuitously ridiculous ending that I couldn't convince myself represented anything other than a virtual insult to the audience.

The dangers of the B-17 belly gunner position were real, though. The late American journalist Andy Rooney wrote of an actual belly-landing-with-trapped-belly-gunner incident he witnessed during his time as a WW2 correspondent. This was in his 1997 book My War (which, of course, couldn't have influenced Spielberg).

Rooney's account is excerpted and accessible at: